Our Members

Back to Member Directory

Maclay Murray & Spens logo

Maclay Murray & Spens LLP

http://www.mms.co.uk

151 St Vincent Street, Glasgow G2 5NJ

Maclay Murray & Spens LLP is one of Scotland’s largest law firms operating throughout the UK from offices in Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen and London and on the continent from an office in Brussels. With a broad client base, national and international, corporate and private the firm is now ranked as one of the top 50 in the UK. MMS is also the sole member of Lex Mundi, the international network of leading independent legal firms which enables us to offer our clients the highest level of legal advice and support in 97 countries around the globe. With 72 partners and over 260 additional fee earners it underlines our ambitions to consolidate our position as a leading legal firm.


Our financial services practice has been significantly enhanced since our merger with City Law Partnership (CLP) in 2004, and our service offering is now much more comprehensive and broad ranging. This was further boosted in 2006 by acquiring a majority shareholding in compliance and accountancy consultancy firm Leale-Green Limited (MMS Regulatory Solutions). Our clients come from a number of financial services sectors including banking, insurance, securities, investment trusts, asset management and private equity. Our spectrum of work ranges from mergers and acquisitions work through to compliance and regulatory support. We provide transactional and advisory services to banks, insurance companies, fund managers, custodians, brokers, other financial institutions and both open-ended and closed end funds (retail, institutional, private equity and hedge funds). 

The firm is committed to providing a consistently excellent quality of service across our entire service range. Our view is that ‘very smart people’ hire smart lawyers. Our people and our clients bring innovation, lateral thinking and intelligence to bear on the problems and challenges they have faced in business to find solutions.

Magnus Swanson
magnus.swanson@mms.co.uk

0141 248 5011

Susan Kelly Banking and Finance
susan.kelly@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7079

Tim Edward Commercial Litigation & Advocacy 
tim.edward@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7241

Kenneth Shand Corporate 
kenneth.shand@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2331

Jane Fraser Employment Pensions & Benefits 
jane.fraser@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7130

Gill Grassie IP & Technology 
gill.grassie@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7106

Chris Smylie Planning & Environmental 
chris.smylie@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7283

Andrew Biggart Private Client
andrew.biggart@mms.co.uk

0141 271 5322

Michael Hughes Insolvency/Corporate Recovery
michael.hughes@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2397

Euan Wilson Capital Projects 
euan.wilson@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7229

Mark Macaulay Construction & Engineering 
mark.macaulay@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2343

Gwen Souter Tax 
gwen.souter@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2497

Catriona Munro EU & Competition & Regulatory 
catriona.munro@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2385

Uisdean Vass Oil & Gas 
uisdean.vass@mms.co.uk

01224 356 146

Gordon Aitken Property 
gordon.aitken@mms.co.uk

0141 303 2339

Jonathan Brooks Capital Markets
jonathan.brooks@mms.co.uk

020 7002 8518

Michael Livingston Private Equity 
michael.livingston@mms.co.uk

0131 228 7164

OUR Members

  • Aberdeen Logo
  • Accenture UK Logo
  • Aegon logo
  • Alliance Trust 13
  • Artemis Investment Management LLP Logo
  • Aviva logo
  • logo_baillie_gifford___co
  • Bank of Scotland logo
  • Barclays Carousel
  • BNP Paribas logo
  • Citi logo
  • Clydesdale Bank logo
  • ES Noble Logo
  • IBM logo
  • JP Morgan Europe logo
  • KPMG logo
  • kames_capital
  • Lloyds Banking Group logo
  • Martin Currie Investment Management Ltd logo
  • Prudential logo
  • PWC logo
  • Royal Bank of Scotland logo
  • Royal London Logo
  • Sainsbury's bank
  • Scottish Enterprise logo
  • Scottish Widows logo
  • Scottish Widows Bank logo
  • Standard Life logo
  • Standard Life Investments
  • State Street Logo - 06 07 2012
  • Tesco Bank logo
  • Turcan Connell
  • Avaloq_logo
  • Adam and Company Group Logo
  • Assiso logo
  • Bank of England logo
  • Bank of New York Mellon logo
  • Billy Hay logo
  • BlackRock logo
  • BP logo
  • Brewin Dolphin logo
  • Brodies LLP logo
  • logo_bt
  • Caledonian Economics logo
  • CGI
  • Change Logo
  • CISI Logo 06 07 2012
  • Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland
  • CMS Cameron McKenna logo
  • core_assets
  • Deloitte logo
  • Logo Dundas & Wilson
  • eFinancialCareers logo
  • EY logo 3
  • Experis_logo
  • First State Investments logo
  • Franklin Templeton Investments logo
  • HSBC Bank logo
  • Hyman Robertson logo 06 07 2012
  • Ignis AM
  • ICAS
  • Interactive Data logo
  • Johnston Carmichael logo
  • Law Society of Scotland logo
  • Lloyds TSB Scotland logo
  • Maclay Murray & Spens logo
  • Morgan Stanley
  • Navigant logo
  • Newton Investment Management logo
  • Noble Grossart logo
  • Oracle logo
  • Pinsent Masons logo
  • Ruffer logo
  • Scott-Moncrieff logo
  • Scottish Business Association of Singapore logo
  • Scottish Financial Risk Academy logo
  • Shepherd and Wedderburn logo
  • Six Telekurs logo
  • ThinkTank Maths
  • University of Glasgow logo
  • Aberdeen Logo
  • Accenture UK Logo
  • Aegon logo
  • Alliance Trust 13
  • Artemis Investment Management LLP Logo
  • Aviva logo
  • logo_baillie_gifford___co
  • Bank of Scotland logo
  • Barclays Carousel
  • BNP Paribas logo
  • Citi logo
  • Clydesdale Bank logo
  • ES Noble Logo
  • IBM logo
  • JP Morgan Europe logo
  • KPMG logo
  • kames_capital
  • Lloyds Banking Group logo
  • Martin Currie Investment Management Ltd logo
  • Prudential logo
  • PWC logo
  • Royal Bank of Scotland logo
  • Royal London Logo
  • Sainsbury's bank
  • Scottish Enterprise logo
  • Scottish Widows logo
  • Scottish Widows Bank logo
  • Standard Life logo
  • Standard Life Investments
  • State Street Logo - 06 07 2012
  • Tesco Bank logo
  • Turcan Connell
PausePlay

By becoming a member of SFE, you and your colleagues will be able to participate in and benefit from the work we do.

Benefits of being a member button