Shepherd and Wedderburn LLP

http://www.shepwedd.co.uk

1 Exchange Crescent, Conference Square, Edinburgh EH3 8UL

Shepherd and Wedderburn is a leading full service UK law firm, with an uncompromising commitment to client service at the highest level. With offices in the City of London and Edinburgh, Shepherd and Wedderburn is engaged at the heart of the UK’s two main financial centres.  Also, operating from Glasgow and Aberdeen, the firm delivers comprehensive multi-jurisdictional legal advice across every business sector as well as offering the full range of private client and wealth management services.

Regarded by many as the go-to firm for specialist advice in the financial services, energy and natural resources and real estate sectors, Shepherd and Wedderburn also has an impressive track record in advising clients from across other industries and sectors. Our clients include FTSE 100 blue-chips, AIM companies, large SMEs and public service organisations as well as private individuals.

Types of work undertaken: Particular expertise and focus is in providing pragmatic, commercial advice in the financial, energy and natural resources and real estate and infrastructure sectors. Shepherd and Wedderburn’s sector approach brings together specialist lawyers from across the firm with the knowledge and experience to tackle sector-specific commercial issues.

Financial: with offices in the City of London and Edinburgh, Shepherd and Wedderburn is engaged at the heart of the UK’s two main financial centres. Clients include major corporates and blue-chip financial institutions in both cities as well as UK-wide and internationally.

With a focus on commercial banksinvestment banksasset managers and insurers, the team’s expertise allows them to get to grips with the most complex legal issues in finance and banking. The firm’s daily workload incorporates a range of differing specialisms in the financial sector, including corporate, banking, funds, ethical finance, real estate, employment, competition, regulation, risk and compliance, pensions and dispute resolution. The firm has the largest banking team in Scotland, boasting the leading securitisation specialists. It has an excellent reputation in banking and financeequity capital markets and listed funds.

Energy and natural resources: the firms’ energy and natural resources team is at the forefront of this sector and has an enviable reputation for successfully advising leading organisations on a wide variety of complex and innovative transactions. The team is experienced in the energy and natural resources sector and has a proven track record of advising clients on matters relating to conventional power, renewables, oil and gas (upstream and downstream), water, waste and mining.

Real estate and infrastructure: with a long history of acting for real estateconstruction and infrastructure companies, the firm has one of the industry’s most impressive client lists. Long recognised as market leaders in Scotland, this combined with the firm’s London office and Scottish-based English property unit delivers a high-quality, competitive UK-wide service.

Charities: the charities team works across disciplines, addressing all legal issues in the context of the prevailing regulatory regime. The team draws on the expertise of charity specialists in each of the areas of legal practice which are relevant to charities, for example tax, employment, litigation and property.

Commercial dispute resolution: the firms’ leading commercial dispute resolution practice works throughout the UK.  Led by six expert partners, they excel in pursuing and defending high-value claims, as well as in adjudication, arbitration, mediation and expert determination.

Corporate tax: with experience covering a broad range of company sizes and sectors, from specialist consultancies and niche players through to major multinationals, the team advise on the full range of direct and indirect taxes.

Employee share incentives: as experts in all matters relating to employee share incentives, the team focuses on the development, design and administration of share incentive plans, including requirements arising out of corporate transactions.

IP: the intellectual property team has the expertise to guide clients effectively from initial trade mark registration through to responding to any eventual infringement or breach, whether online or offline, in the UK and beyond.

Pensions: the pensions team has built up a bank of experience over many years through close involvement in all types of occupational pension arrangements. The team are skilled at considering issues from the perspective of employers, trustees and other advisers, resulting in a well-rounded practice which can support its clients in the way that suits their needs best.

Private client: the private client practice offers a range of key services, including tax planning, succession planning, international advice, probate services and effective philanthropy.

 

Stephen Gibb, Chief Excecutive 
stephen.gibb@shepwedd.com   
0131 473 5211

 

Banking: Fiona Buchanan - 0131 473 5310 - fiona.buchanan@shepwedd.com        

Charities: Malcolm Rust - 0131 473 5284 - malcolm.rust@shepwedd.com           

Commercial: Liz McRobb - 0141 566 8502 - liz.mcrobb@shepwedd.com

Commercial Litigation: David Anderson - 0131 473 5102 - david.anderson@shepwedd.com

Corporate Finance: Andrew Blain - 0131 473 5410 - andrew.blain@shepwedd.com

Corporate Recovery: Yvonne Brady - 0141 566 8504 - yvonne.brady@shepwedd.com

Corporate Tax: Stephen Miller - 0131 473 5227 - stephen.miller@shepwedd.com

Employment: Neil Maclean - 0131 473 5181 - neil.maclean@shepwedd.com

Energy: James Saunders - 0131 473 5288 - james.saunders@shepwedd.com

Financial Services: Paul Hally - 0131 473 5183 - paul.hally@shepwedd.com

Pensions: Andrew Holehouse - 0131 473 5192 - andrew.holehouse@shepwedd.com

Private Client: Malcolm Rust - 0131 473 5284 - malcolm.rust@shepwedd.com

Real estate and infrastructure: James Dobie - 0131 473 5156 - james.dobie@shepwedd.com

Share schemes: Rodger Cairns – 0131 473 5449 - rodger.cairns@shepwedd.com