FinTech Scotland announces Board members

A cross section of representatives from the fintech ecosystem will sit on the new FinTech Scotland Board.

Eleven board members have been appointed to work with CEO Stephen Ingledew and the FinTech Scotland team to oversee the strategic plans for making Scotland a top five global fintech centre.

David Fergusson, Chief Executive of Nucleus Financial and HM Treasury FinTech Envoy for Scotland, will chair the board, which includes representatives from the six recently announced strategic partners - IBM, Equifax, Pinsent Masons, Deloitte, Dentsu Aegis Network and Sopra Steria.  

The board members are:

David Fergusson (Chair) - Chief Executive, Nucleus Financial

Jude Cook - Co-Founder and CEO, ShareIn

Hugh Edmiston - Corporate Services Director, University of Edinburgh

Louise Smith – Head of Design, RBS

Linda Hanna – Managing Director, Scottish Enterprise

Kent Mackenzie – Partner and Global Head of fintech in Scotland, Deloitte

Anneli Ritari-Stewart - Managing Director, iProspect, Dentsu Aegis Network

Melba Foggo – Managing Director, UK Consulting, Sopra Steria

Yvonne Dunn – Partner, Pinsent Masons

Neil Cunningham - Partnerships Director, Equifax UK

Paul Ryan - Director of Watson Artificial Intelligence & Data, IBM

In addition, the following will attend board meetings in an observer role:

Maggie Craig – Head of Scotland, Financial Conduct Authority

Karen Rodger – Head of Financial Services and fintech Policy, Scottish Government

Stephen Ingledew, FinTech Scotland Chief Executive, said: “I’m delighted with the diverse range of experience and expertise we will have around the Board table to guide us in taking forward the FinTech Scotland plans. 

“Each individual is passionate about making fintech a major success in Scotland and, at a personal and collective level, they will provide wise counsel and guidance in driving our core values of collaboration, innovation and inclusion.”

Graeme Jones, Scottish Financial Enterprise Chief Executive, said: “It’s great to see FinTech Scotland taking another step forward by appointing its Board, following the announcement of the six strategic partners. SFE and our members will continue to support FinTech Scotland’s strategic plans and ambition to become a world-leading fintech hub.

“SFE’s FinTech Steering Committee is now being repurposed to better fit the new governance structure of FinTech Scotland and also drive forward the Collaborate for Innovation workstream – one of five workstreams in the five-year Scottish Financial  Services Strategy, which was developed by SFE members in 2017. Louise Smith will continue to Chair the new SFE FinTech Development Group, which is being launched this week.”

The first FinTech Scotland Board meeting took place on Tuesday 26  June, reflecting on the last six months and focussing on strategic priorities for the rest of the year.