New Chairman for Scottish Financial Enterprise

SFE has announced the appointment of Jim Pettigrew as Chairman. He will take over from Sir Ewan Brown CBE, who is retiring from the post after 4 years, on 1st July.

Jim Pettigrew is Chairman of CYBG PLC, owner of Clydesdale Bank.  He has over 30 years’ experience as a chartered accountant and is immediate past president of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS).  Jim has held a number of senior executive and non-executive posts in financial services. 

Welcoming Jim Pettigrew, retiring Chairman Sir Ewan Brown said:

“I am delighted to be handing over the reins of SFE to someone with the wealth of experience and talent which Jim has to offer. Jim has worked across a range of financial services sectors and the expertise he brings with him will be tremendously valuable to the work of SFE.

“It is a time of fast paced change in financial services and the landscape in which we are operating, both in Scotland and internationally, is constantly evolving. With this in mind, we have embarked on a number of new initiatives at SFE to bring together a shared strategic direction for the industry in Scotland and its part in society.  It is, therefore, an excellent time for Jim to join and help shape this vision for the future. I wish him well and I am confident that under his leadership, the SFE Board, together with Chief Executive Graeme Jones, will continue to successfully represent and support Scottish financial services.”

Jim Pettigrew said:

“The financial services industry is hugely important to Scotland and I feel privileged to have this opportunity to play a part in supporting and promoting the industry.

“It is an exciting time to be joining SFE. I look forward to working with Graeme and SFE members to develop a shared vision which places the industry’s role in society and serving customers, firmly at its centre.” 


1.The post of SFE Chairman is an unpaid, non-executive position.

2.Jim Pettigrew biography: 

Joined CYBG Group in 2012 becoming Chairman in 2014. He is Chairman of the CYBG Governance and Nomination Committee (subject to regulatory approval) and a member of the Remuneration Committee. In addition Jim is Chairman and Non-Executive Director of The Edinburgh Investment Trust plc, Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Crest Nicholson Holdings plc and Chairman of its Remuneration Committee, and Deputy Chairman and Non-Executive Director of RBC Europe Limited. Previous roles include; Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee at Aberdeen Asset Management plc, Group Finance Director of ICAP plc, Chief Executive Officer of CMC Markets plc, Chief Operating Officer of Ashmore Group plc and Group Treasurer of Sedgwick Group plc and President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

Contact:  Elaine Ravenscroft at SFE on 0131 247 7700 or